Carpathian Biosphere Reserve
Rakhiv district Reserve

Carpathian Biosphere Reserve

Carpathian Biosphere Reserve was formed in 1968, on the area of 12,6 thousand hectares, while it was having the status of state reserve. Since 1992 it has been a part of the World Network of Biosphere Reserves of UNESCO, and next year it became Carpathian Biosphere Reserve, covering 53630 hectares. It consists of six separate massifs: Chornohirsky, Svydovetsky, Maramorosky, Kuziysky, Uholsko-Shyrokoluzhansky and Narcissus Valley. Two botanic preserves — Chorna Hora and Yulivska Hora — are also included. The territory of the reserve represents a landscape structure and biogeographical features of the Eastern Carpathians.

Carpathian Biosphere Reserve is located at an altitude of 180-2060 m above sea level (the highest peak is Hoverla Mountain, 2061 m) and within three major parts of the Ukrainian Carpathians (Western, Central, Eastern). Different climatic conditions of the region are closely related to this, varying from moderately warm to cold: the average temperature in June ranges between +11 and +19°C, in January — from -1,7 to -8,5°C, the amount of annual precipitation ranges from 650 to 1500 mm.


Rakhiv district

Reserve Rakhiv district